Vaccination pass: final end of its application in France


Vaccination pass: final end of its application in France

VACCINE PASS. Since August 1, 2022, the anti-Covid device is no longer required in places where it was still in force in France, in particular in health establishments.

[Updated August 23, 2022 at 12:17 p.m.] Introduced on January 24, 2022, the vaccination pass completely disappeared from national territory on August 1, 2022, whether in hospitals or at airports. This Monday, August 1, 2022 marks the disappearance of the vaccination pass. A new health bill put an end on this date to the measures provided for by the state of health emergency such as the vaccination pass hitherto applied to the daily life of the French (places of culture, restaurants, transport), confinement or even the curfew.

The government can no longer impose “measures limiting the freedom to come and go, the freedom to do business and the freedom of assembly”, hitherto allowed by the state of health emergency. The new health bill adopted definitively on July 26, however, maintains certain tools in the context of the management of the pandemic, making it possible to test compulsory for people over 12 years old for entry into France from abroad in the event of dangerous new variant. A test could also be required between mainland France and Corsica or overseas in the event of hospital saturation. This new border control device called Travel Health Certificate, differs from the vaccination pass since it only requires a screening test. The first article of the new law, meanwhile, extends until March 31, 2023 the devices for epidemic surveillance and identification of contact cases (the SI-Dep and Contact Covid computer files).

The government has chosen to no longer impose the vaccination pass in a new law entitled "Health monitoring and safety" which took effect on August 1, 2022. "The virus is circulating actively again, but the impact on the hospital system is low" , justified the Prime Minister to the presidents of parliamentary groups. The vaccination pass was governed by a law of transitional regime of the state of health emergency which officially ended it on July 31, 2022.

The vaccine pass, suspended on March 14, 2022, ultimately lasted less than two months, since it only came into force on January 24, 2022. To reactivate the vaccine pass, the government would have to pass another law .

The vaccination pass no longer appears in the new system aimed at combating the Covid-19 pandemic in France. There are therefore no more checks at the entrances to health and medico-social services and establishments.

When returning to France from abroad, it is no longer necessary to present a valid vaccination certificate, nor a certificate of recovery from Covid-19. Now only a negative drug test, in the form of a Travel Health Certificate, will be valid as long as a new dangerous variant emerges. Except for a new variant, no more sanitary provisions are required.

The 27 member countries of the European Union and 35 non-EU countries (and territories) joined the EU's digital COVID certificate system in 2022, of which the "vaccination pass" is a part, in the same way as the negative antigen test or immunity certificate. But depending on the circulation of the virus, countries may no longer request it. It is advisable to check the information before leaving on the France Diplomatie site.

As a reminder, the EU digital COVID certificate may be required for travelers crossing the borders of one of the 27 member states of the European Union: France, Germany, Italy, Spain, Portugal, Netherlands, Belgium , Luxembourg, Ireland, Croatia, Greece, Austria, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Latvia, Lithuania, Estonia, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Malta, Denmark, Poland, Finland, Sweden, Hungary and Czechia, but also in the countries of the space Schengen countries located outside the European Union: in Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Iceland and Norway, then in the principalities of Monaco and Andorra, and in the following countries located outside the European Union: Albania, Armenia , Benin, Cape Verde, El Salvador, Faroe Islands, Georgia, Israel, Jordan, Lebanon, Moldova, Montenegro, Morocco, Tunisia, New Zealand, North Macedonia, Panama, San Marino, Serbia, Singapore, Taiwan, Thailand , Togo, Turkey, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom and Crown Dependencies nne (Jersey, Guernsey and the Isle of Man), Uruguay and Vatican.